Call for Papers

Important Dates






Contact us

WS-FM 2006

3rd International Workshop on
Web Services and Formal Methods

8-9 September 2006, Vienna, Austria

Official event of "The Process Modelling Group"

Co-located with BPM 2006
4th International Conference on Business Process Management 

Web Services technology aims at providing standard mechanisms for describing the interface and the services available on the web, as well as protocols for locating such services and invoking them (e.g. WSDL, UDDI, SOAP). Innovations are mainly devoted to the definition of standards that support the specification of complex services out of simpler ones (the so called Web Service orchestration and choreography). Several proposals have been already set up: BPML, XLANG
and BizTalk, WSFL, WS-BPEL, WS-CDL, etc...

Formal methods, which provide formal machinery for representing and analysing the behavior of communicating concurrent/distributed systems, are playing a fundamental role in the development of such innovations. First of all they are exploited to understand the basic mechanisms (in terms of semantics) which characterize different orchestration and choreography languages and to focus on the essence of new features that are needed. Secondly they provide a formal basis for reasoning about Web Service semantics (behaviour and equivalence): e.g. for realizing registry services where retrieval is based on the meaning and behaviour of a service and not just a Web Service name. Thirdly, the studies on formal coordination paradigms can be exploited for developing mechanisms for complex run-time Web Service coordination. Finally, given the importance of critical application areas for Web Services like E-commerce, the development of the Web Service technology can certainly take advantage from formal analisys of security properties and performance in concurrency theory.

The aim of the workshop is to bring together researchers working on Web Services and Formal Methods in order to facilitate fruitful collaboration in this direction of research. This, potentially, could also have a great impact on the current standardization phase of Web Service technologies.

List of Topics

The topics of interest include, but are not limited to:

  • Protocols and standards for WS (SOAP, WSDL, UDDI, etc... )

  • Languages and description methodologies for Coreography/Orchestration/Workflow (BPML, XLANG and BizTalk, WSFL, WS-BPEL, WS-CDL, YAWL, etc... )

  • Coordination techniques for WS (transactions, agreement, coordination services, etc...)

  • Semantics-based dynamic WS discovery services (based on Semantic Web/Ontology techniques or other semantic theories)

  • Security, Performance Evaluation and Quality of Service of WS

  • Semi-structured data and XML related technologies


Submissions must be original and should not have been published previously or be under consideration for publication while being evaluated for this workshop.

We encourage also the submission of tool papers, describing tools based on formal methods, to be exploited in the context of Web Services applications. 

Papers are to be prepared in LNCS format and must not exceed 15 pages. Accepted papers will be published in the workshop proceedings as a volume of Lecture Notes in Computer Science (LNCS).

As done for previous editions of the workshop, we intend to publish a journal special issue inviting full versions of papers selected among those presented at the workshop.

Important Dates

Abstract submission deadline:    2 May 2006
Paper submission deadline: 9 May 2006
Author notification:    12 June 2006 (new deadline)
Camera-ready copy:    20 June 2006
Workshop dates 8-9 September 2006

Program Committee


Mario Bravetti  University of Bologna, Italy
Gianluigi Zavattaro University of Bologna, Italy

Board of "The Process Modelling Group":

Wil van der Aalst Eindhoven University of Technology, The Netherlands
Rob van Glabbeek NICTA, Sydney, Australia
Keith Harrison-Broninski Role Modellers Ltd.
Robin Milner Cambridge University, UK
Roger Whitehead Office Futures

Other PC members:

Marco Aiello  University of Trento, Italy
Farhad Arbab CWI, The Netherlands
Matteo Baldoni University of Torino, Italy 
Jean-Pierre Banatre University of Rennes1 and INRIA, France
Boualem Benatallah  University of New South Wales, Australia
Karthik Bhargavan Microsoft research Cambridge, UK
Roberto Bruni  University of Pisa, Italy
Michael Butler  University of Southampton, UK
Fabio Casati HP Labs, USA
Rocco De Nicola  University of Florence, Italy
Marlon Dumas Queensland University of Technology, Australia 
Schahram Dustdar  Wien University of Technology, Austria
Gianluigi Ferrari  University of Pisa, Italy
Jose Luiz Fiadeiro  University of Leicester, UK
Stefania Gnesi CNR Pisa, Italy
Reiko Heckel  University of Leicester, UK
Kohei Honda Queen Mary, University of London, UK
Nickolas Kavantzas  Oracle Co., USA
Leila Kloul Université de Versailles, France
Cosimo Laneve  University of Bologna, Italy 
Mark Little  Arjuna Technologies Limited, UK
Natalia López University Complutense of Madrid, Spain
Roberto Lucchi University of Bologna, Italy
Jeff Magee  Imperial College London, UK
Fabio Martinelli  CNR Pisa, Italy
Manuel Mazzara  University of Bolzano, Italy 
Ugo Montanari  University of Pisa, Italy 
Shin Nakajima  National Institute of Informatics and JST, Japan
Manuel Nunez  University Complutense of Madrid, Spain
Fernando Pelayo University of Castilla-La Mancha, Albacete, Spain
Marco Pistore University of Trento, Italy
Wolfgang Reisig  Humboldt University, Berlin, Germany
Vladimiro Sassone University of Sussex, UK
Marjan Sirjani Tehran University, Iran
Friedrich Vogt Technical University of Hamburg-Harburg, Germany
Martin Wirsing Ludwig-Maximilians-University Munchen, Germany

Organizing Committee


Manuel Nunez  University Complutense of Madrid, Spain

Local chair:

Friedrich Neubarth

Austrian Research Institute for Artificial Intelligence


Other members:

Mario Bravetti  University of Bologna, Italy

Gregorio Díaz

Universidad Castilla-La Mancha, Spain

Alberto de la Encina

Universidad Complutense de Madrid, Spain

Roberto Lucchi University of Bologna, Italy

Mercedes G. Merayo

Universidad Complutense de Madrid, Spain

Gianluigi Zavattaro University of Bologna, Italy